Why not doing research all the time can make you a better researcher

There we go, I figured out how to reblog I actually wanted to but failed doing so in my “Research career” notice.

In the Dark

Yesterday I read a nice little article in Nature about how doing something different from research every now and again can actually make you a better researcher. I agree with that completely, so thought I’d expand upon the theme with a few comments of my own. I think this is an issue of particular importance for early career researchers, as that is the stage at which good habits need to be established, so I will focus on PhD students.

The point is that a postgraduate research degree is very different from a programme of undergraduate study. For one thing, as a research student you are expected to work on your own a great deal of the time. That’s because nobody else will be doing precisely the same project so, although other students will help you out with some things, you’re not trying to solve the same problems as your peers…

View original post 1,083 more words

Standard

Leave a Reply

